I was rereading an old journal of mine, and I stumbled across this. It’s not particularly applicable right now, nor am I postive that it isn’t already posted somewhere on here — but rereading it made me marvel at the fact that no matter how much things change, they stay the same too. Leave some comments as to what experience you’ve had that had this affect upon you. What was it that made you believe, and keeps you believing even in the face of so many doubt inducing circumstances -S.

 

Since I’ve been home from camp, or whatever misnomer i’ve currently given to those three weeks this summer that changed my life, I’ve been brimming with stories. Only, none of my so called friends back home seem to appreciate the way in which those moments, hours, days, weeks, juxtapositioned together to form this amazing, life altering experience. They don’t believe me. And maybe you don’t either, because perhaps it wasn’t as meaningful for you as it was for me. And if that makes me a needy person, so be it. Because if I know anything in this world, it is this: I had an experience. I can’t prove it. I can’t even explain it and when I try to, no one will listen, much less believe me. But everything I know as a human being – everything that I am – tells me that it was real. I was given something wonderful, something that changed me forever. A vision of the universe that tells us undeniably how tiny and insignificant and how rare and precious we all are. A vision that tells that us we belong to something that is great than ourselves. That we are not – that none of us – are alone. I wish I could share that. I wish that everyone – if even for one moment – could feel that awe and humility and a hope. That continues to be my wish.

Leave a Reply

