Flying home from Virginia two nights ago, I saw the Northern Lights outside my window. I couldn’t see them at first, but I knew they were there and so I kept my eyes glued to the sky and eventually they appeared. It was if the world had been spilt, as if another level of consciousness had been superimposed upon it. For there was a dual horizon, two lines running parallel to one another, and I almost expected to see two suns rise the next morning. In that moment I realized the minute nature of our lives and the fact that we cannot be alone. There is so much world out there yet.

Leave a Reply

